RAM Alcohol Awareness Training

RAM Alcohol is a certification program written specifically by hospitality industry professionals in Maryland. Responsible alcohol service helps businesses to avoid fines, increased insurance costs, the loss of a liquor license, and even loss of the business.

 

This online training is free. Contact RAM for information on the certification exam.

RAM Alcohol Awareness Training meets all of the requirements for responsible alcohol service training as required by Article 2B of the Annotated Code of Maryland and is accepted in ALL Maryland counties.
 
Topics covered include:
  - The Importance of Responsible Alcohol Service
  - Underage Drinking and ID’s
  - The Effects of Alcohol on the Body
  - Levels of Intoxication
  - Techniques for Controlling Consumption and Preventing Intoxication


Prepare yourself with training from a trusted and experienced source—the Restaurant Association of Maryland Education Foundation (RAMEF). 

FAQ

Program Questions:

  1. Do I have to pay for this training?
    • No. The online training is free, but it does NOT include the certification exam.
  2. How much does the certification exam cost?
    • The exam is $45 for RAM members and $65 for non-members. Contact RAM for more details and exam dates.
  3. How is this different from TIPS, TAMS, or ServSafe Alcohol?
    • RAM Alcohol is designed specifically for Maryland. It is recognized by the Comptroller of Maryland EXACTLY the same as the other programs, but it is only valid in Maryland. Contact RAM if you operate in multiple states and need a nationally recognized certification.
  4. If I take the exam, how long is the certificate valid?
    • The certificate is valid for 4 years. This is a Maryland state standard. ALL alcohol awareness programs in Maryland are valid for 4 years.
  5. Who is required to get an Alcohol Awareness Certification?
    • Generally Maryland counties require license holders of on-premise & off-premise retail alcohol beverage establishments to have at least one licensee or designated employee with a current certification. Some  counties including Caroline, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Washington, Wicomico, and Worcester require the currently certified person employed in a supervisory capacity to by present during all hours in which alcohol may be sold. Additional requirements apply for certain types of establishments and in certain jurisdictions. Specific information can be found in Article 2B of the Annotated Code of Maryland §3-504 "Alcohol Awareness Program."

Content Questions:

  1. When you renew an ID, the MVA now sends it in the mail. Is the paper receipt valid for identification if someone is waiting on their new ID and their old one is already expired?
    • The paper "ID" is only a receipt. It is only valid in combination with the expired ID and only for 30 days from the issue date of the receipt. 
  2. Is it illegal to accept vertical ID's as proof of age if the person just turned 21?
    • No, but many organizations choose not to accept them as a reasonable effort to restrict the sale of alcohol to minors. This is an acceptable policy as long as it is consistently enforced.

 

© Copyright 2019 | Terms | Privacy | MC LMS, Inc. | Designed by Chilid & XSolve